Microbial Electrosyntheses - Research project evaluating the usage of electric energy for future microbial production processes

Bild Forschungsprojekt

Most industrial synthesis of fuels and chemicals are currently based on the use of fossil carbon sources such as oil, gas and coal. It has long been known that these supplies are finite. Therefore, to greater extent biotechnological and chemical processes based on renewable raw materials like sugar and starch get into focus. Nevertheless, the usage of such raw materials results in a massive competition for crops between commodity and food manufacturers. A way out of this "food-or-fuel" dilemma may be microbial electrosynthesis. In this process, electrons are transferred from a cathode to microorganisms. The microorganisms use the electrons for reductive synthesis reactions (in the optimal case) based on CO2, whereby the required electrical energy should be obtained from regenerative sources. As part of the first research funding, numerous and in-depth insights were collected, which will be further investigated in the follow-up project.

 

Period: 31.03.2018 - 28.02.2021
Partner: Electrochemistry workgroup at DFI
Funder: BMBF
Project Manager: Cora Kroner, Hanna Frühauf
Research Group: Industrial Biotechnology

The aim of the ongoing project is the further development of microbial electrosynthesis for the production of bulk chemicals. For this purpose, the knowledge gained from the first research project will be used to establish new production routes based on electroactive organisms. Alternatively, optimizations of the biofilm formation of these electroactive organisms are planned in order to increase yields. Furthermore, it is planned to make microbial electrosynthesis even more efficient by various reaction-technical optimizations (such as the use of novel reactor concepts).
The focus of the project will be on three key topics:

a)      Expansion of the product spectrum, among others through strain development
Literature describes numerous organisms that are suitable as model organisms for microbial electrosynthesis. Although these electroactive organisms have been very well studied, only a few strains are known to produce industrially relevant chemicals. Therefore, within the framework of this project, the product range of different electroactive strains should be extended by means of metabolic engineering. In addition, other organisms with interesting properties such as H2 metabolization or high solvent tolerance are being capacitated to be electroactive.

b)      Optimization of biofilm formation with appropriate monitoring
The underlying biological mechanisms for electron uptake are poorly understood. Therefore, the investigation of the interaction of the microorganisms with the cathode is a research focus of the DFI. As well biofilm formation and cell immobilization at the cathode as different techniques for biofilm stability are being investigated.

c)       Reaction engineering optimization of microbial electrosyntheses
For the extension of microbial electrosynthesis towards a photoelectrochemical production system, hydrogen production by means of photocatalysis and the cultivation of C. necator should be combined and analyzed. Furthermore, fluidized bed reactors will be investigated.

 

Period: 01.01.2013 - 31.12.2017
Partner: Electrochemistry workgroup at DFI
Funder: BMBF
Project Manager: Dr. Florian Mayer, Thomas Krieg, Anne Sydow
Research Group: Industrial Biotechnology

Microbial Electrosynthesis is a new interdisciplinary research field for the production of biofuels and basic chemicals from oxidized substrates such as carbon dioxide. Electrons supplied by a cathode enable the reductive synthesis of these substrates catalyzed by electroactive microorganisms. These organisms are able to interact directly with the cathode or utilize electrochemically reduced media components such as redox mediators or hydrogen. To date the biological mechanisms for the electron uptake are poorly understood (1).Therefore, our research at the DFI focuses on the interaction of electroactive microorganisms with cathodes including biofilm formation and cell immobilization on different electrode materials. Different electron uptake strategies such as the direct transfer are being compared to the indirect, mainly mediator-based electron transfer mechanisms concerning production efficiency. Bioelectrochemical reactor designs are developed and optimized to enhance microbial growth and production of chemicals helping to improve our electroactive microorganisms. A broad spectrum of molecular and microbial as well as electrochemical methods (e.g. impedance spectroscopy, cyclic voltammetry) are used to characterize the systems. The research groups Biochemical Engineering and Electrochemistry are working on this tandem project at the DFI.

(1) Sydow, A., Krieg, T., Mayer, F. et al. Appl Microbiol Biotechnol (2014) 98: 8481

 

 

back
 Contact

Dr. Dirk Holtmann

Tel.:+49 69 / 7564-610

 

Publications

F. Mayer, M. Stöckl, T. Krieg, K.-M. Mangold, D. Holtmann
Chemical Technology and Biotechnology 93(10) (2018) 3000-3010

T. Krieg, J. Madjarov, L. F. M. Rosa, F. Enzmann, F. Harnisch, D. Holtmann, K. RabaeyAdvances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology (2018) 

T. Krieg, L. M. P. Phan, J. A. Wood, A. Sydow, I. Vassilev, J. O. Krömer, K.‐M. Mangold, D. HoltmannBiotechnology and Bioengineering 115 (7) (2018)

T. Krieg, A. Sydow, S. Faust, I. Huth, D. HoltmannAngewandte Chemie 130(7) (2018) 1897-1900

A. Sydow, A. Pannek, T. Krieg, I. Huth, SE. Guillouet, D. HoltmannJournal of Biotechnology 263 (2017) 1-10

T. Krieg, F. Mayer, D. Sell, D. HoltmannEnvironmental Technology 21:1-9 (2017)

A. Sydow, T. Krieg, R. Ulber, D. HoltmannEngineering in Life Science17(7) (2017) 781-791

 





Upcoming courses

Zuse-Mitgliedschaft

Become a benefactor

Mikrobielle Elektrosynthesen - ein integrierter Forschungsansatz zur Nutzung elektrischer Energie in zukünftigen mikrobiellen Produktionsprozessen

Bild Forschungsprojekt

Die meisten industriellen Synthesen von Kraftstoffen und Chemikalien beruhen zurzeit auf der Nutzung fossiler Kohlenstoffquellen wie Öl, Gas und Kohle. Dass diese Vorräte endlich sind, ist lange bekannt. Daher werden zunehmend biotechnologische und chemische Verfahren auf Basis nachwachsender Rohstoffe untersucht. Bisher hat dies zumeist zu einer Nutzung von Rohstoffen, die auch als Nahrungsmittel von Bedeutung sind, wie beispielsweise Zucker und Stärke, geführt. Dies führt zu einer massiven Konkurrenz um Anbauflächen zwischen Rohstoff- und Nahrungsmittelherstellern. Ein Ausweg aus diesem „Tank-oder-Teller“-Dilemma können mikrobielle Elektrosynthesen sein. In mikrobiellen Elektrosynthesen werden Elektronen von einer Kathode auf Mikroorgansimen übertragen. Die Mikroorganismen nutzen die Elektronen für reduktive Synthesereaktionen (im optimalen Fall) auf Basis von CO2, wobei die benötigte elektrische Energie aus regenerativen Quellen gewonnen werden sollte. Im Rahmen der ersten Forschungsförderung wurden hierzu zahlreiche und tiefgehende Erkenntnisse gesammelt, die im Folgeprojekt weiter untersucht werden sollen.

 

Laufzeit: 01.03.2018 - 28.02.2021
Partner:  Arbeitsgruppe Elektrochemie am DECHEMA Forschungsinstitut
Geldgeber: BMBF
Bearbeiter: Cora Kroner, Hanna Frühauf
Arbeitsgruppe: Industrielle Biotechnologie

Ziel des weiterführenden Projektes ist die Weiterentwicklung mikrobieller Elektrosynthesen zur Produktion von Basischemikalien. Hierfür sollen die aus dem ersten Forschungsprojekt erarbeiteten Kenntnisse genutzt werden, um neue Produktionsrouten auf Basis von elektroaktive Organismen zu etablieren oder im Sinne der Produktionssteigerung eine Optimierung der Biofilmbildung dieser elektroaktiven Organismen zu bewirken. Des Weiteren ist es geplant, die mikrobielle Elektrosynthese durch diverse reaktionstechnische Optimierungen (wie die Nutzung neuartiger Reaktorkonzepte) noch effizienter zu gestalten.

Im Fokus des Projektes stehen drei Schlüsselthemen:

a) Erweiterung des Produktspektrum u.a. durch Stammentwicklung

In der Literatur sind zahlreiche Organismen beschrieben, die als Modellorgansimen für mikrobielle Elektrosynthesen in Frage kommen. Obwohl diese elektroaktiven Organismen sehr gut untersucht wurden, sind bisher nur wenige Stämme zur Produktion von industriell relevanten Chemikalien bekannt. Daher soll im Rahmen dieses Projektes das Produktspektrum von verschiedenen elektroaktiven Stämmen mittels metabolic engineering erweitert werden. Außerdem sollen weitere Organismen durch genetische Modifizierung zur Elektroaktivität befähigt werden, da sie aufgrund besonderer Eigenschaften wie H2-Verstoffwechslung oder hohe Lösungsmittel-Toleranz vielversprechende Kandidaten für zukünftige bioelektrochemische Verfahren sind.

 b) Optimierung der Biofilmbildung mit entsprechendem Monitoring

Die zugrundeliegenden biologischen Mechanismen für die Elektronenaufnahme sind bisher wenig bekannt. Aufgrund dessen stellt die Untersuchung der Interaktion der Mikroorganismen mit der Kathode einen Forschungsschwerpunkt am DFI dar. Dazu werden einerseits die Biofilmbildung und die Zellimmobilisierung an der Kathode und verschiedene Techniken zur Biofilm-Stabilität untersucht.

 c) Reaktionstechnische Optimierung der mikrobiellen Elektrosynthesen

Für die Erweiterung der mikrobiellen Elektrosynthesen in Richtung eines photoelektrochemisches Produktionssystems soll die Wasserstofferzeugung mittels einer Photokatalyse und die Kultivierung von C. necator kombiniert und analysiert werden.  Weiterhin sollen Wirbelbettreaktoren untersucht werden.

 

Laufzeit: 01.01.2013 - 31.12.2017
Partner:  Arbeitsgruppe Elektrochemie am DECHEMA Forschungsinstitut
Geldgeber: BMBF
Bearbeiter: Dr. Florian Mayer, Thomas Krieg, Anne Sydow
Arbeitsgruppe: Industrielle Biotechnologie

Ziel dieses neuen interdisziplinären Forschungsfeldes der Mikrobiellen Elektrosynthesen ist die Produktion von Biokraftstoffen und Basischemikalien durch elektroaktive Mikroorganismen. Substrate für diese reduktiven Synthesereaktionen stellen dabei beispielsweise Kohlenstoffdioxid und die Elektronen-liefernde Kathode dar. Elektroaktive Mikroorganismen können dabei direkt mit der Kathode interagieren oder auf elektrochemisch an der Elektrode reduzierte Substanzen im Medium, wie Redoxmediatoren oder Wasserstoff, angewiesen sein. Die zugrundeliegenden biologischen Mechanismen für diese Reaktionen sind bisher wenig bekannt (1). Aufgrund dessen stellt die Untersuchung der Interaktion der Mikroorganismen mit der Kathode einen Forschungsschwerpunkt am DFI dar. Dazu werden einerseits die Biofilmbildung und die Zellimmobilisierung an der Kathode untersucht. Andererseits soll dieser direkte Elektronenaufnahmemechanismus hinsichtlich Produktionseffizienz mit den indirekten, vor allem Mediator-basierten Methoden verglichen werden. Um das Wachstum und die Produktion im bioelektrochemischen System zu optimieren liegt ein zweiter Schwerpunkt in der Verbesserung des Reaktordesigns. Neben  molekularbiologischen und mikrobiologischen Methoden kommen auch eine Vielzahl an elektrochemischen Methoden, wie zum Beispiel die Impedanzspektroskopie  oder die Cyclovoltammetrie zum Einsatz. Das Tandemprojekt wird durch Mitarbeiter der Arbeitsgruppen Bioverfahrenstechnik und Elektrochemie bearbeitet.

(1) Sydow, A., Krieg, T., Mayer, F. et al. Appl Microbiol Biotechnol (2014) 98: 8481

zurück
Kontakt

Dr. Dirk Holtmann

Tel.:+49 69 / 7564-610

 

Publikationen

F. Mayer, M. Stöckl, T. Krieg, K.-M. Mangold, D. Holtmann
Chemical Technology and Biotechnology 93(10) (2018) 3000-3010

T. Krieg, J. Madjarov, L. F. M. Rosa, F. Enzmann, F. Harnisch, D. Holtmann, K. RabaeyAdvances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology (2018) 

T. Krieg, L. M. P. Phan, J. A. Wood, A. Sydow, I. Vassilev, J. O. Krömer, K.‐M. Mangold, D. HoltmannBiotechnology and Bioengineering 115 (7) (2018)

T. Krieg, A. Sydow, S. Faust, I. Huth, D. HoltmannAngewandte Chemie 130(7) (2018) 1897-1900

A. Sydow, A. Pannek, T. Krieg, I. Huth, SE. Guillouet, D. HoltmannJournal of Biotechnology 263 (2017) 1-10

T. Krieg, F. Mayer, D. Sell, D. HoltmannEnvironmental Technology 21:1-9 (2017)

A. Sydow, T. Krieg, R. Ulber, D. HoltmannEngineering in Life Science17(7) (2017) 781-791

 




Aktuelle Kurse

Zuse-Mitgliedschaft

Jetzt Stifter werden