Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Schütze

Scientific Advisory Board of the Executive Board

Contact Address

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Schütze
Theodor-Heuss-Allee 25
D-60486 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Tel.: +49-(0)69-7564-337
Fax: +49-(0)69-7564-388
E-mail: schuetze at


born 23. October 1952, married, 2 children


Diploma: 1978, Engineer of Materials Science, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Doctoral Degree: 1983, Doctor of Engineering Sciences, Technical University of Aachen (RWTH), Germany
Habilitation: 1991, University Teaching Qualification, Technical University of Aachen (RWTH)
Professor: 1998 - today, High Temperature Materials, Faculty Member Georesources and Material Technology at Technical University of Aachen (RWTH)


  • 1978-1990, Research Scientist at the Karl-Winnacker-Institut of DECHEMA e.V., Frankfurt am Main, Germany
  • 1991 - 2014, Head of the High Temperature Materials Research Group and the service groups Metallography, Electron Microscopy and Microanalysis of the Institute
  • 1993, Visiting Scientist at the Institute for Microstructural Sciences (Prof. Michael J. Graham) of the National Research Council Canada (NRC), Ottawa
  • 1996-2007, Director Materials at the Karl-Winnacker-Institut
  • 2008-2012, Executive Director of the Karl-Winnacker-Institut
  • 2012-2017, Chairman of the Executive Board of the Civil Law Foundation "DECHEMA-Forschungsinstitut", Frankfurt am Main
  • 2017 - today, Scientific Advisory Board of the Executive Board of the Civil Law Foundation "DECHEMA-Forschungsinstitut", Frankfurt am Main
  • High Temperature Corrosion (Oxidation, Nitridation, Carburization, Metal Dusting, Sulphidation, Halogenization, Synergies)
  • Mechanical Properties of Surface Scales and Coatings
  • Interaction of Corrosion and Creep
  • Development and Investigation of Protective Coatings (Sputter Coatings, Thermal Spray Coatings, Multi-elemental Co-Diffusion Coatings, Thermal Barrier Coatings, Nano-Coatings, High Temperature Sensor Coatings)
  • Intermetallics
  • Beneficial Halogen Effect for Al-containing Alloys
  • 1991, Friedrich-Wilhelm Award of the Technical University of Aachen (RWTH)
  • 1999, Elected conference chairman of the Gordon Research Conference on Corrosion / USA
  • 2000, Rahmel-Schwenk-Medal of GfKORR - Society for Corrosion Protection
  • 2004, Otto von Guericke-Award of AiF - German Federation of Industrial Research Associations
  • 2010, Cavallaro Medal, jointly awarded by the University of Ferrara / I and the European Federation of Corrosion (EFC)
  • 2012, U.R. Evans Award - Institute of Corrosion / UK
  • 2015, Khwarizmi Award of the IROST / IR
  • 2015, Innovation Award of the UNIDO
  • 2016, Lee Hsun Lecture Award of the IMR at the Chinese Academy of Sciences / PRC
  • 2017, Honorary Fellowship of the European Federation of Corrosion
  • Co-editor of "Materials and Corrosion"; Wiley VCH, Weinheim, 1995 - today
  • Member of the International Advisory Board of "Oxidation of Metals", Springer, New York, 1995 - today
  • Member of the Editorial Board of "Corrosion Engineering, Science and Technology", Maney, Leeds, 2003 - today
  • Member of the Editorial Board of "Materials at High Temperatures", Science Reviews, St. Albans, 2008 - today
  • Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of "The Open Corrosion Journal", Bentham Science, Oak Park, 2008 - today
  • Member of the Editorial Board of "International Journal of Corrosion", Hindawi, New York, 2008 - today
  • Member of the Editorial Board of "Advances in Materials Science and Engineering", Hindawi, New York, 2017 - today
  • Over 500 contributions in journals and books, author or coauthor of four books, editor of 31 books, 32 patents
  • Technical University of Aachen (RWTH)
    Corrosion Science and Surface Technology (university education for students)
    1993 - today
  • German Society of Steelmakers (VDEh)
    High Temperature Corrosion for Managers in Steel Industry (continuing professional development for industry)
    1992 - today
  • German Society for Materials Science (DGM)
    High Temperature Corrosion and Mechanical Stresses (continuing professional development for industry)
    1991 - today
  • DECHEMA-Forschungsinstitut
    Corrosion, Materials Science, and Damage Evaluation (continuing professional development for industry)
    1983 - today
Committee Work:

European Federation of Corrosion (EFC)

  • President 2005-2008
  • Working Party Chairman of WP 3 "Corrosion by Hot Gases and Combustion Products", 1998-2016
  • Member of the Science and Technology Advisory Committee, 1998-2016
  • Member of the Board of Administrators, 2005-2009

World Corrosion Organisation (WCO)

  • President 2007-2009
  • Member of the Board of Directors, 2007 - today

International Standards Organization (ISO)

  • Work group convenor of ISO TC 156 WG 13 "High Temperature Corrosion", 2002-2015

European commission (EC)

  • Project Coordinator of COTEST, 2002-2005
  • Proposal evaluator in several programmes
  • Research contractor in several programmes

Society for Corrosion Protection (GfKORR)

  • Managing Director 2001-2003 (honorary)
  • Member of the Scientific Advisory Board, 1996 - today
  • Committee Chairman of AK 20 "Corrosion Protection at Elevated Temperatures", 2004 - today

German Accreditation Society for Chemical Industry (DACH)

  • Member of examination group SK3 "Materials Testing", 1996 - today

Industry and Trade Chamber (IHK)

  • Member of the examination board for certified corrosion experts in Germany, 1996 - today

German Federation of Industrial Research Associations (AiF)

  • Member of research proposal evaluation committee GAG 1 "Metallic Materials", 2003 - today

German Science Foundation (DFG)

  • Proposal evaluator for research projects and special research area groups (SFB)
  • Co-Initiator of the research program SPP 1299 "HAUT" (High Temperature Functional Surfaces), 2006

ATZ Research Center

  • Vice-chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board, 2004-2012


  • Member of the Advisory Board, 2007 - today

Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und prüfung (BAM)

  • Member of the Scientific Advisory Board "Materials and Technical Systems", 2007-2014
  • Member of the Scientific Advisory Board "Material", 2015 - today


  • Member of the Innovation Board, 2015 - today
  • Member of the technical committee "Evaluation", 2016 - today

Iranian Research Organization for Science and Technology (IROST)

  • Member of the Khwarizmi International Award Scientific Committee, 2016 - today

ASM, DECHEMA, DGM, DKG, E-MRS, GfKORR, ICorr (Fellow), IoM (Fellow), MRS, NACE, TMS, VDEh, VDI

Become a benefactor