Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Fürbeth

Contact address

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Fürbeth
Theodor-Heuss-Allee 25
D-60486 Frankfurt am Main, Germany




  • Born 12th of February 1967 in Ahlen/Westf.
  • Study of chemistry at the University of Dortmund, diploma thesis at the Max-Planck-Institute for iron research Düsseldorf (corrosion group), diploma (1992)
  • ECASIA poster prize (1995)
  • Farbe&Lack award of the Fachgruppe Anstrichstoffe und Pigmente of GDCh (1996)
  • Doctorate in materials sciences at the Max-Planck-Institute for iron research Düsseldorf (corrosion group) and at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (chair for corrosion and surface technology), PhD (1997)
  • Scientific co-worker in the electrochemistry and corrosion group at the Karl-Winnacker-Institut der DECHEMA e.V., Frankfurt am Main (1997)
  • Head of the corrosion group at the Karl-Winnacker-Institut der DECHEMA e.V., Frankfurt am Main (2005)
  • Habilitation at RWTH Aachen (2012)
  • Member of the Scientific Directorate of DFI (2012)
  • Member of the Institute Directorate (2017)
  • Appointment as Extraordinary Professor by the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering of RWTH Aachen (2018)

Research topics: Corrosion and corrosion protection

  • Electrochemistry of the delamination of organic coatings on metals
  • Potential measurements with the Scanning Kelvinprobe
  • Corrosion protection by new protective layers and coatings on metals
  • Chemical nanotechnology
  • Microbiologically influenced corrosion (MIC)
  • Materials selection, damage cases, industrial research, corrosion investigations



  • See patent list of the corrosion group

Community Services

  • EFC - European Federation of Corrosion
    Working Party „Coatings“ (Member since 1999, Co-Chairman 2007-2012, Chairman since 2012)
    Member of Science and Technology Advisory Committee (since 2012, Chairman since 2017)
    Member of EUROCORR International Scientific Committee (since 2011))
    Award Committee EFC Medal (Chairman seit 2017)
    Award Committee EFC Honorary Fellow (Mitglied seit 2017)
    Award Committee EFC Young Scientist Grant (Chairman seit 2017)
  • GfKORR - Gesellschaft für Korrosionsschutz e.V.
    Member of several working parties (since1997)
    Vice-chair of the working party "Corrosion Basics and Simulation" (since 2015)
    Member of the Scientific Advisory Board (since 2012, Chairman since 2017)
  • DIN - Deutsches Institut für Normung
    Member of standardisation committee NA 062-01-71 „Corrosion and Corrosion Protection“ (1998-2013)
    Member of standardisation committee NA 062-01-77 „Corrosion Testing“ (since 2013)
  • DFG - Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft 
    Evaluator in Priority Programme 1168 „Extending the application limits of magnesium alloys“ (2003-2010)
  • DGO - Deutsche Gesellschaft für Galvano- und Oberflächentechnik Member of Research Committee (since 2005)
  • DFO - Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft Oberflächenbehandlung Member of working party "Surface Treatment of Light Metals" (since 2005)
  • DGM - Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde
    Member of working party "Magnesium alloys"
    Member of working party "Titanium alloys"
  • EGYCORR - International Conference on Corrosion Mitigation and Surface Protection Technologies, Egypt
    Member of International Advisory Board (since 2010)
  • Frontiers in Materials - Corrosion Research
    Review Editor (since 2014)
  • Journal Materials and Corrosion (Wiley-VCH)
    Member of the International Advisory Board (since 2016)


  • Member of GfKORR, GDCh, DECHEMA, VDEh, DGO and ISE
  • Member (since 1999) and Chairman (since 2012) of the Working Party "Coatings" of the European Federation of Corrosion
  • Member of Standardization Committee DIN NMP 171 "Corrosion and Corrosion Protection" (since 1998, since 2001 sent by GfKORR)
  • Scientific evaluator in the DFG program of emphasis 1168 "Innovative Magnesium Technologies"
  • International Advisory Board of the "Bulletin of the Chemical Society of Ethiopia" (2001 - 2004)
  • Appointed guest member of the sub-committee for chemically resistant steels and of the sub-committee for corrosion of the Verein Deutscher Eisenhüttenleute VDEh (since 1998)
Become a benefactor